3rd Annual Hospitality Awards Gala

LBHA Awards Gala September 18 at Hotel Maya

On Wednesday, September 18, 2019, the Long Beach Hospitality Alliance welcomed over 200 guests to Hotel Maya for its 3rd annual Long Beach Hospitality Awards.

Presenting awards were Councilmembers Dee Andrews and Al Austin along with Mayor Robert Garcia’s outgoing Chief of Staff Mark Taylor, Councilwoman Suzie Price’s Chief of Staff, Jack Cunningham and Lynn Mohrfeld, President and CEO of the California Hotel and Lodging Association, who traveled from Sacramento to attend the event.

“It was a wonderful night for our industry,” said Heather Rozman, Executive Director for the Long Beach Hospitality Alliance.  “This annual event is a great opportunity for our hotel and restaurant workers, general managers, restaurateurs and members of the community to come together and celebrate the men and women who serve as front-line ambassadors to our city, making Long Beach a welcoming travel destination for visitors, and a vibrant, caring community for our residents.”

The evening, sponsored by PSAV, was emceed by TravelHost Publisher Dan Lipton, began with an alfresco cocktail reception and Regal Wine Co. wine bar along with live entertainment set against Hotel Maya’s oceanfront backdrop.  As the party moved inside, guests were served a three-course dinner by Fuego, paired with a selection of premium wines courtesy of Regal Wine Co., and a Hollywood style awards presentation continued throughout the evening. Not only is this night about fun, it’s about giving back to the community. A silent auction was also held with 100% of proceeds benefitting the WomenShelter of Long Beach and over $3,000 was raised.

Congratulations to our 2019 award nominees  & winners:

Rising Star Award

  • Fernando Veulvas, runner/server at Hilton Long Beach
  • Isabella Galarza, VIP coordinator at Hyatt Regency Long Beach – WINNER
  • Ariel Blackburn, catering manager at Hotel Maya

Unsung Hero Award

  • Eduardo Alvarez, director of Engineering at The Westin Long Beach
  • Joel Magana, maintenance/busboy at Belmont Brewing Company – WINNER
  • Juan Cruz, banquet houseman at Hotel Maya

Beyond the Call of Duty

  • Jenifer Jones, front office manager at Hampton Inn & Homewood Suites Long Beach Airport – WINNER
  • Maria Luisa Lopez, housekeeping supervisor at Long Beach Hilton
  • Rudy Lira, head chef at R Bar

Lifetime Achievement

  • Martin Howard, owner of Howard CDM
  • David Lott and David Hansen, owners of Belmont Brewing Company – WINNER
  • Luis Navarro, owner of Lola’s Mexican Cuisine, The Social List, Portuguese Bend Distillery

Community Spirit Award

  • Long Beach Symphony
  • Hotel Maya CARE Committee – WINNER
  • Aaron Tofani, co-owner of Rance’s Chicago Pizza

Outstanding Hotel of the Year

  • Long Beach Hilton
  • The Westin Long Beach – WINNER
  • Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Outstanding Restaurant of the Year

  • Fuego at Hotel Maya
  • 555 East – WINNER
  • Pier 76 Fish Grill

Entrepreneur Award

  • Aaron Tofani, co-owner of Rance’s Chicago Pizza
  • Angela Almaguer, owner of Salud Juice – WINNER
  • Steve Massis, owner of The Attic on Broadway and Ashley’s on Fourth

Special Event Award

  • SteelCraft Long Beach
  • Navy Proof at The Westin Long Beach
  • Dine Out Long Beach, Restaurant Week 2.0 – WINNER

Housekeeping Award

  • Araseli Ailman, public attendant at Hyatt Regency Long Beach
  • Hortencia Gutierrez de Molina, room attendant at Long Beach Hilton – WINNER
  • Maria Ramos, room attendant at The Westin Long Beach

Safety Award

  • Timothy Ong, chief engineer at Hyatt Centric The Pike – WINNER
  • Matt Ayers, owner of London Boat Rentals

Click here for our award winners press release.

Click here for our nominations press release.